Thanks to the updates I get from the ONE Campaign, I found this awesome new movement and video that I think everyone should take 2 1/4 minutes to watch. I don’t know much about this campaign quite yet, but from what I see, I’m really digging it. You gotta love these kinds of videos that don’t use the fancy shmancy effects, don’t use the celebrity endorsements, just facts given in a way we can all understand. I’m Too Young for This, an awesome young adult cancer group, also masters this art in their PSA’s.

Now, dig a little deeper, and you’ll find that The Girl Effect is financed by the Nike Foundation, and I think we all know how I feel about Nike. One can’t help but notice the irony in Nike supporting a campaign like this when they more than likely subject these same girls to awful sweatshop conditions. Could this all be just one big PR campaign to make people forget about their past sins? I’m not sure. With other powerhouses like the NoVo Foundation behind it, it gives it a sense of legitimacy.

Regardless, it offers some sobering facts:

• When a girl in the developing world receives seven or more years of education, she marries four years later and has 2.2 fewer children.
• An extra year of primary school boosts girls’ eventual wages by 10 to 20 percent. An extra year of secondary school: 15 to 25 percent.
• Research in developing countries has shown a consistent relationship between better infant and child health and higher levels of schooling among mothers.
• When women and girls earn income, they reinvest 90 percent of it into their families, as compared to only 30 to 40 percent for a man.

Check it out and share your thoughts.

